Schedule

To see ZOOM links, you must fill out the registration form

Why am I seeing this?

The Project and Community Workshop runs from Monday August 10 to Friday August 14, 2020.

All times posted are Pacific Time. Use your favorite time zone converter to figure out the time for you or get the sessions into your calendar: link here

As a guide here is a conversion of some timezones for the first session of the day:
06:00 HST = 09:00 PT = 12:00 EDT = 18:00 CEST = 02:00 AET +1

All sessions are pitched for general (non-technical) community participants; everyone is welcome at all sessions.

PT

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

08:45

 

Lightning Stories

Lightning Stories

 

 

09:00

Director's open (15)

Plenary 2

Operations QA

Plenary 3

Science Collaborations Report

Plenary 4

Science Keynote: "From disruption, opportunity: the current and future impact of AI on astronomy"

Dr. Brian Nord

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion 
breakout session

09:15

Plenary 1

Construction QA (45)

09:30

09:45

10:00

BREAK (30)

10:15

10:30

Intro to Rubin:
Systems & Jargon

Algorithms Workshop Follow-up

Rubin Research Bytes
(
contributed flash talks)

Evaluating Survey Strategies

In-kind proposal workshop
(repeat)

Community Alert Brokers

LSSTC - Fundraising

Stack Club:
New Science Platform Tutorials

LSSTC - DEI in New Programs

10:45

11:00

11:15

11:30

BREAK (30)

11:45

12:00

Community Support for Science

External Synergies for Rubin Science

Commiss. & Validation

In-kind proposal workshop

Community Preparation for Early Science

 

Low Surface Brightness Science

EPO Interacting with Data in the Browser

Breakout Summaries

12:15

12:30

12:45

13:00

ADJOURN

PT

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Al final de cada dia a partir de las 13:00 - Presentaciones del equipo chileno sobre temas del telescopio

Lunes, Miercoles, Jueves, Viernes

On Wednesday at 1pm, join a social session for simulated poolside conversation and then virtual board games! All are welcome.

Monday, Aug 10

06:00 HST - 09:00 PT - 12:00 EDT - 18:00 CEST - 02:00 AET +1

Steve Kahn

Director Steve Kahn will open up the meeting with a general address.

06:15 HST - 09:15 PT - 12:15 EDT - 18:15 CEST - 02:15 AET +1

Victor Krabbendam

This plenary talk, given by Rubin Observatory Construction Project Director Steve Kahn, begins with an overview of the Project, including its organization and schedule. The talk includes comments o...

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

Melissa Graham and Jim Annis

For anyone new to the Rubin Observatory or seeking a refresher on the observatory's systems (telescope and site, camera, data management, and education and public outreach), this session will place...

Leanne Guy and Colin Slater

This session will follow-up on open issues emerging from the Rubin Observatory Algorithms Workshop in March 2020 (ls.st/law).

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Sam Schmidt, Jeff Newman, and Tim Eifler

A community-led series of presentations and discussions surrounding opportunities for enabling new science by combining data from Rubin and other facilities, such as Euclid (including potential der...

Melissa Graham and Jeff Carlin

The Rubin Observatory Community Engagement Team (CET) within the System Performance department is responsible for providing support for science users of Rubin data products and services.

10:00 HST - 13:00 PT - 16:00 EDT - 22:00 CEST - 06:00 AET +1

Jacques Sebag and Jeff Barr

Las presentaciones en español se distribuyen en 4 sesiones durante el PCW para ofrecer al equipo de participar en el trabajo de sus colegas chilenos.

Tuesday, Aug 11

05:45 HST - 8:45 PT - 11:45 EDT - 5:45 CEST - 01:45 AET +1

The collective work of the entire Rubin Observatory team and Science Collaborations is needed for LSST to be a success.

06:00 HST - 09:00 PT - 12:00 EDT - 18:00 CEST - 02:00 AET +1

Bob Blum

To get an update on Rubin operations please watch the following recordings prior to the Plenary on Tuesday August 11th, 2020.  During the plenary most of the time will be dedicated...

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

Pat Burchat and Federica Bianco

The Rubin Research Bytes (RRB) session consists of 10 parallel Zoom meetings in which four presenters will give three minute flash talks, followed by a ~10 minute moderated Q&A.

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Keith Bechtol and Chuck Claver

The Project will provide updates on the schedule, progress, and plans regarding preparations for on-sky commissioning activity, and discuss these activities with the community.

Phil Marshall

This session is intended to be a workshop for teams planning to submit full proposals to make in-kind contributions to Rubin Observatory and/or LSST science support, in exchange for LSST data right...

Wednesday, Aug 12

05:45 HST - 8:45 PT - 11:45 EDT - 5:45 CEST - 01:45 AET +1

The collective work of the entire Rubin Observatory team and Science Collaborations is needed for LSST to be a success. Lightning Stories are dedicated to celebrating the diverse contribut...

06:00 HST - 09:00 PT - 12:00 EDT - 18:00 CEST - 02:00 AET +1

Federica Bianco

Each of the LSST Science Collaborations will provide a brieft status report and update about their ongoing activities.

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

Peter Yoachim and Lynne Jones

The Project survey simulations team will provide an update on Operations Simulations (OpSim) and their Metric Analysis Framework (MAF), and host a Q&A on topics related to the community's evalu...

Phil Marshall

...

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Leanne Guy and Bob Blum

Science during year one is a priority for Rubin Observatory operations.

10:00 HST - 13:00 PT - 16:00 EDT - 22:00 CEST - 06:00 AET +1

Jacques Sebag and Jeff Barr

Las presentaciones en español se distribuyen en 4 sesiones durante el PCW para ofrecer al equipo de participar en el trabajo de sus colegas chilenos....

Sophie Reed

This social session will have a soft start at 4pm EDT (1pm PDT) with simulated "pool time" casual conversation, and then progress to board games.

Thursday, Aug 13

06:00 HST - 09:00 PT - 12:00 EDT - 18:00 CEST - 02:00 AET +1

Dr. Brian Nord

From disruption, opportunity: the current and future impact of AI on astronomy

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

Eric Bellm and Melissa Graham

Abstract: The development of community brokers to process the LSST alert stream and enable user science with alerts is well underway.

LSST Corporation

Abstract: One of LSSTC's core activities is seeking funding from private donors and foundations for programs that enable or relate to research with Rubin Observatory LSST (such as...

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Lee Kelvin and Sugata Kaviraj

Session Abstract: The potential for low surface brightness (LSB) science to flourish with Rubin Observatory data is vast, but not without pitfalls.

Amanda Bauer

We need you to help dazzle our audiences!  Over the past year, EPO has built many browser-based tools for directly interacting with real data.

10:00 HST - 13:00 PT - 16:00 EDT - 22:00 CEST - 06:00 AET +1

Jacques Sebag and Jeff Barr

Las presentaciones en español se distribuyen en 4 sesiones durante el PCW para ofrecer al equipo de participar en el trabajo de sus colegas chilenos.
Friday, Aug 14

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

Alex Drlica-Wagner and Greg Madejski

Stack Club develops tutorial notebooks for user science analyses in the Rubin Science Platform.

LSST Corporation

Abstract: What if you could re-write the rules of academia?  What would you change to make research more joyous for black scientists, women, and other groups that are underrepresen...

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Come and hear about all the exciting discussions and interactions that took place throughout the week. Each session will have one person present an overview of their outcomes.

10:00 HST - 13:00 PT - 16:00 EDT - 22:00 CEST - 06:00 AET +1

Jacques Sebag and Jeff Barr

Las presentaciones en español se distribuyen en 4 sesiones durante el PCW para ofrecer al equipo de participar en el trabajo de sus colegas chilenos.