Agenda

Monday, Aug 10

06:00 HST - 09:00 PT - 12:00 EDT - 18:00 CEST - 02:00 AET +1

Steve Kahn

Director Steve Kahn will open up the meeting with a general address.

Slack Conversation

06:15 HST - 09:15 PT - 12:15 EDT - 18:15 CEST - 02:15 AET +1

Victor Krabbendam

This plenary talk, given by Rubin Observatory Construction Project Director Steve Kahn, begins with an overview of the Project, including its organization and schedule. The talk includes comments o...

Live Recording Slack Conversation

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

Melissa Graham and Jim Annis

For anyone new to the Rubin Observatory or seeking a refresher on the observatory's systems (telescope and site, camera, data management, and education and public outreach), this session will place...

Live Recording Slack Conversation

Leanne Guy and Colin Slater

This session will follow-up on open issues emerging from the Rubin Observatory Algorithms Workshop in March 2020 (ls.st/law).

Live Recording Slack Conversation

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Sam Schmidt, Jeff Newman, and Tim Eifler

A community-led series of presentations and discussions surrounding opportunities for enabling new science by combining data from Rubin and other facilities, such as Euclid (including potential der...

Live Recording Slack Conversation

Melissa Graham and Jeff Carlin

The Rubin Observatory Community Engagement Team (CET) within the System Performance department is responsible for providing support for science users of Rubin data products and services.

Live Recording Slack Conversation

10:00 HST - 13:00 PT - 16:00 EDT - 22:00 CEST - 06:00 AET +1

Jacques Sebag and Jeff Barr

Las presentaciones en español se distribuyen en 4 sesiones durante el PCW para ofrecer al equipo de participar en el trabajo de sus colegas chilenos.

Grabación en Vivo
Tuesday, Aug 11

05:45 HST - 8:45 PT - 11:45 EDT - 5:45 CEST - 01:45 AET +1

The collective work of the entire Rubin Observatory team and Science Collaborations is needed for LSST to be a success.

See Video Slack Conversation

06:00 HST - 09:00 PT - 12:00 EDT - 18:00 CEST - 02:00 AET +1

Bob Blum

To get an update on Rubin operations please watch the following recordings prior to the Plenary on Tuesday August 11th, 2020.  During the plenary most of the time will be dedicated...

Live Recording Slack Conversation

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

Pat Burchat and Federica Bianco

The Rubin Research Bytes (RRB) session consists of 10 parallel Zoom meetings in which four presenters will give three minute flash talks, followed by a ~10 minute moderated Q&A.

List of Recordings Slack Conversation

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Phil Marshall

This session is intended to be a workshop for teams planning to submit full proposals to make in-kind contributions to Rubin Observatory and/or LSST science support, in exchange for LSST data right...

Live Recording Slack Conversation

Keith Bechtol and Chuck Claver

The Project will provide updates on the schedule, progress, and plans regarding preparations for on-sky commissioning activity, and discuss these activities with the community.

Live Recording Slack Conversation
Wednesday, Aug 12

05:45 HST - 8:45 PT - 11:45 EDT - 5:45 CEST - 01:45 AET +1

The collective work of the entire Rubin Observatory team and Science Collaborations is needed for LSST to be a success. Lightning Stories are dedicated to celebrating the diverse contribut...

See Video Slack Conversation

06:00 HST - 09:00 PT - 12:00 EDT - 18:00 CEST - 02:00 AET +1

Federica Bianco

Each of the LSST Science Collaborations will provide a brieft status report and update about their ongoing activities.

Live Recording Slack Conversation

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

Phil Marshall

...
Live Recording Slack Conversation

Peter Yoachim and Lynne Jones

The Project survey simulations team will provide an update on Operations Simulations (OpSim) and their Metric Analysis Framework (MAF), and host a Q&A on topics related to the community's evalu...

Live Recording Slack Conversation

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Leanne Guy and Bob Blum

Science during year one is a priority for Rubin Observatory operations.

Live Recording Slack Conversation

10:00 HST - 13:00 PT - 16:00 EDT - 22:00 CEST - 06:00 AET +1

Jacques Sebag and Jeff Barr

Las presentaciones en español se distribuyen en 4 sesiones durante el PCW para ofrecer al equipo de participar en el trabajo de sus colegas chilenos....
Grabación en Vivo

Sophie Reed

This social session will have a soft start at 4pm EDT (1pm PDT) with simulated "pool time" casual conversation, and then progress to board games.

Slack Conversation
Thursday, Aug 13

06:00 HST - 09:00 PT - 12:00 EDT - 18:00 CEST - 02:00 AET +1

Dr. Brian Nord

From disruption, opportunity: the current and future impact of AI on astronomy

Live Recording Slack Conversation

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

LSST Corporation

Abstract: One of LSSTC's core activities is seeking funding from private donors and foundations for programs that enable or relate to research with Rubin Observatory LSST (such as...

Live Recording Slack Conversation

Eric Bellm and Melissa Graham

Abstract: The development of community brokers to process the LSST alert stream and enable user science with alerts is well underway.

Live Recording Slack Conversation

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Amanda Bauer

We need you to help dazzle our audiences!  Over the past year, EPO has built many browser-based tools for directly interacting with real data.

Live Recording Slack Conversation

Lee Kelvin and Sugata Kaviraj

Session Abstract: The potential for low surface brightness (LSB) science to flourish with Rubin Observatory data is vast, but not without pitfalls.

Live Recording Slack Conversation

10:00 HST - 13:00 PT - 16:00 EDT - 22:00 CEST - 06:00 AET +1

Jacques Sebag and Jeff Barr

Las presentaciones en español se distribuyen en 4 sesiones durante el PCW para ofrecer al equipo de participar en el trabajo de sus colegas chilenos.
Grabación en Vivo
Friday, Aug 14

06:00 HST - 09:00 PT - 12:00 EDT - 18:00 CEST - 02:00 AET +1

Federica Bianco and Keith Bechtol

Title: Roadmap to a more Just, Equitable, Diverse, and Inclusive Rubin Observatory

Live Recording Slack Conversation

07:00 HST - 10:00 PT - 13:00 EDT - 19:00 CEST - 03:00 AET +1

07:30 HST - 10:30 PT - 13:30 EDT - 19:30 CEST - 03:30 AET +1

Alex Drlica-Wagner and Greg Madejski

Stack Club develops tutorial notebooks for user science analyses in the Rubin Science Platform.

Live Recording Slack Conversation

LSST Corporation

Abstract: What if you could re-write the rules of academia?  What would you change to make research more joyous for black scientists, women, and other groups that are underrepresen...

Live Recording Slack Conversation

08:30 HST - 11:30 PT - 14:30 EDT - 20:30 CEST - 04:30 AET +1

09:00 HST - 12:00 PT - 15:00 EDT - 21:00 CEST - 05:00 AET +1

Come and hear about all the exciting discussions and interactions that took place throughout the week. Each session will have one person present an overview of their outcomes.

Live Recording Slack Conversation

10:00 HST - 13:00 PT - 16:00 EDT - 22:00 CEST - 06:00 AET +1

Jacques Sebag and Jeff Barr

Las presentaciones en español se distribuyen en 4 sesiones durante el PCW para ofrecer al equipo de participar en el trabajo de sus colegas chilenos.

Grabación en Vivo