Welcome to the Science Advisory Committee for LSST

The Science Advisory Committee (SAC) provides a formal, and two-way, connection to the external science community served by the Rubin Observatory.  Comprised of scientists familiar with but external to the Rubin Project, the SAC advises the Rubin Constructions and Operations Directors on both policy questions and technical topics of interest to the Project and the science community.  The charge to the SAC, as of December 30, 2022, may be found here

Members of this committee, together with their institutions and e-mail adresses, are as follows: 

​Please contact any of the above individuals with questions, advice, or input on any aspect of the Rubin Observatory science effort. 

The following are previous members of the SAC: 

Timo Anguita, Rachel Bean, Federica Bianco, David Kirkby, Harry Ferguson, Marla Geha, Chris Hirata, Lisa Hunter, Bhuvnesh Jain, Jason Kalirai, Amy Mainzer, Renu Malhotra, Rachel Mandelbaum, Dante Minniti, Ricardo Muñoz, Nelson Padilla, Meg Schwamb, Stephen Smartt,  Lucianne Walkowicz, Risa Wechsler,  and Michael Wood-Vasey.