Welcome to the CEC Website

The CEC makes recommendations to the Rubin Observatory Operations Director about the scientific utility of in-kind contributions that have been proposed by international groups in return for LSST data rights. The CEC’s initial work, in winter/spring 2020, is to evaluate the first round of  proposals for in-kind contributions. It will then continue to advise the Rubin Observatory Operations Director Subsequently, the CEC will be responsible for reviewing proposals in future calls, and assessing the delivery and performance of in-kind contributions throughout the LSST survey.

Current Committee Members

The committee is made up of representatives put forward by the 8 LSST Science Collaborations, the Science Collaborations Coordinator, and 5 at-large members nominated by the Rubin Observatory Science Advisory Committee, plus one of the Deputy Directors of Rubin Observatory Operations, who chairs the committee.

  1. Federica Bianco (LSST Science Collaborations Coordinator)
  2. Xiaohui Fan (AGN Science Collaboration; alternates Niel Brandt, interim)
  3. Matthew Graham (Informatics and Statistics Science Collaboration; alternate Chad Schafer)
  4. Sugata Kaviraj (Galaxies Science Collaboration; alternate Harry Ferguson)
  5. Peregrine McGehee (Stars, Milky Way and Local Volume Science Collaboration; alternate John Gizis)
  6. Rachel Mandelbaum (Dark Energy Science Collaboration; alternates Pat Burchat, Richard Dubois)
  7. Phil Marshall (Deputy Director of Rubin Observatory Operations, SLAC - Chair)
  8. Meg Schwamb (Solar System Science Collaboration; alternate David Trilling)
  9. Rachel Street (Transients and Variable Stars Science Collaboration; alternate Paula Szkody)
  10. Aprajita Verma (Strong Lensing Science Collaboration; alternate Timo Anguita)
  11. Patricia Arevalo (At Large, Chilean LSST Science Community)
  12. Francisco Forster (At Large, Chilean LSST Science Community)
  13. Ray O'Neal (At Large, US LSST Science Community)
  14. Will Clarkson (At Large, US LSST Science Community)
  15. To be filled (At Large)

As you can see above, each Science Collaboration nominates one or more alternates who can step in to assist with the evaluation of specific in-kind contributions should conflicts of interest arise; these alternates are included in all committee discussions to ensure that they are sufficiently well-informed to step in when needed. The Chair is responsible for ensuring that sufficient technical expertise is available to the CEC, and CEC members are encouraged to cast a wide net in finding the right people to help with their evaluation of any given proposed in-kind contribution.  In practice, this means the Chair will invite observers to join CEC meetings to ensure efficient communication, and the other CEC members will look to their respective sub-comumunities for assistance.

Find Out More