A Formal Relationship: The Rubin Observatory Science Collaboration Federation Charter has been Ratified

A Formal Relationship: The Rubin Observatory Science Collaboration Federation Charter has been Ratified

August 10, 2021 - The Rubin Observatory Legacy Survey of Space and Time (LSST) Science Collaborations (SCs) were created in 2006 by then-LSST Director Tony Tyson and the LSST Corporation Board, and since then the SCs have provided invaluable scientific expertise—and a lot of hard work—towards making the Rubin Observatory science vision a reality. Now, a new document has been ratified that formalizes the existence of the SCs and provides details about the relationship between the SCs and Rubin Observatory. This Federation Charter "seeks to recognize those contributions with the establishment of mutually agreed-upon principles, rules, rights, and privileges of the Science Collaborations and the obligations of Rubin Observatory to the Science Collaborations to support their activities which benefit the entire Rubin Community."

The Rubin Observatory/LSST Science Collaborations are independent, worldwide communities of scientists, self-organized into collaborations based on their research interests and expertise. Currently there are eight active collaborations. More information about the Rubin Observatory SCs can be found on the LSST Corporation website

The details in the newly ratified Federation Charter were mutually agreed on by the Science Collaborations and Rubin Observatory Operations leadership, and they provide clear rules for the formation, dissolution, and operations of the self-governed SCs that are or would be federated with Rubin Observatory. The full document is available at this link

Financial support for Rubin Observatory comes from the National Science Foundation (NSF) through Cooperative Support Agreement No. 1202910, the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science under Contract No. DE-AC02-76SF00515, and private funding raised by the LSST Corporation. The NSF-funded Rubin Observatory Project Office for construction was established as an operating center under management of the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA).  The DOE-funded effort to build the the Rubin Observatory LSST Camera (LSSTCam) is managed by the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (SLAC).
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 to promote the progress of science. NSF supports basic research and people to create knowledge that transforms the future.
NSF and DOE will continue to support Rubin Observatory in its Operations phase. They will also provide support for scientific research with LSST data.   

Contact   |   Employment   |   LSST Corporation

Admin Login

Back to Top